Day 12

My last day of juice fasting !!!  Phew!!!  I MADE IT!!!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰  To be honest, I had my doubts about whether or not I could go this long. I’ve missed my family a lot and I know that I couldn’t have done this at home being surrounded by food and temptations. I’ve decided to cut my juice fasting to one day short because then I’ll have done 6 days on water, 6 days on juice and 6 “re-feeding” as they call it here. I’m not counting my last day here as I have to be up and out of here before 8am in order to safely catch my flight. 

Most of my life I have been someone who followed and played by “the rules” and I am constantly perplexed by people who don’t.  There is a handbook that we are supposed to read when we get here that has all of the “rules” in it to allow everyone to be the most comfortable they can be while here. One of these guidelines is that you should talk on your phone in your room as to not disturb the other guests. (Fasting seems to make other senses a lot stronger). There is this one man here who is constantly on his phone. And as you’ve probably guessed, since I know that, he’s not in his room!  Yesterday morning I was woken up by this man talking on his phone in the courtyard outside my window. One of the other guidelines is that we have quiet time between 9 or 10pm and 7am. What do I see, and hear, at 6:45am?  You guessed it he’s out in the courtyard talking on his phone. Yesterday, he was sitting in the front row of a cooking demo, TALKING ON HIS PHONE!!!  The lady doing the demonstration was looking at him for so long he finally got up and left.  When I go to a lecture, or any class, both of my electronic devices stay in my room on silent. I don’t understand  people who have absolutely no respect for “rules”, let alone the people who are here to learn something and heal!  I think we’ve lost a sense of respect and decency towards each other in this country. I’m not sure if it’s happening in other countries, as well, since I haven’t been out of the country in many moons. We get so tunnel visioned in what’s going on with “us” that we forget to, or choose to, ignore basic respect for others. Maybe that’s one of the lessons that I’m supposed to learn in this lifetime.  So, I encourage everyone that when you’re with other people be WITH them!  Not having your face buried in your phone or your mind somewhere else. Be fully present and engaged in whatever you’re doing. If someone wants to talk to you, and you can’t be fully present right then, tell them so!  I would much rather someone say to me ” I can’t give you my full attention right now can you give me X amount of time so that I can finish what I’m doing?  Then I will be able to give you my full attention” versus just ignoring me or giving me short answers because you really aren’t listening to what I’m saying.

Well, that what a lot longer than intended!  πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚  I actually could have gone on…πŸ˜› (don’t start me on the people that don’t think they have to wait in traffic like everyone else!)

The doctor confirmed the UTI so now I am on cranberry pills, something called d-Mannose and an extra glass of water. (I swear at sometimes I feel like I’m going to float away!  120oz of juice and water per day). If the pain hadn’t greatly reduced by tomorrow they were actually going to put me on antibiotics. Thankfully the pain is almost gone so no antibiotics needed!  

I am so looking forward to eating!  There was a gentleman here, when I first arrived, who I think was on his 3rd or 4th day of eating. He looked like he was in ecstasy!  He was enjoying the food so much. Food that had tasted bland and boring when he arrived now tasted amazing!  It’s truly remarkable what can happen to your taste buds in a short amount of time. 

They haven’t done rounds yet so I’ll post an update later with my vitals. Have an  OUTSTANDING day!

Vitals update: blood pressure 124/68; pulse 64; blood sugar 102 (this still amazes me every time!); weight 194.6. I seem to have hit a plateau on the weight loss which happened with the water as well.  Tomorrow: πŸ πŸ‰πŸ’πŸŠπŸ‡πŸŽπŸπŸŒπŸ“πŸ†πŸˆπŸ½ YAY!!!!!!  Not all that at once obviously. We actually start back very slowly and have to chew our food really well (I hear my grandfather in my head “chew your food 100 times before you swallow”) so that our digestive systems wake up slowly. Be prepared for my gushing on how good food tastes!

2 thoughts on “Day 12

  1. Unfortunately, no, the pain is at the same level as before I arrived. I am going to be trying acupuncture today, Saturday and Monday. I have also identified some buried emotions that I will be journaling on today as I think they also may be contributing to the physical pain. In the words of a song from a recent Disney movie, it’s time to “Let It Go”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

