Day 14 part 2

Vitals: blood pressure 102/67; pulse 62; weight 193.2; blood sugar 120 – blood sugar is a smudge high and they expect that after your first day of re-feeding. They said the body is adjusting to the food. Tomorrow it should be back down just like it was when I started on juice. 

Today I got to add potatoes and steamed vegetables to my raw fruits and vegetables. I also had one of those ecstasy moments I was hoping for when I started re-feeding!  Potato salad!!!  It was…well…ecstasy!!  Purple potatoes, Yukon gold potatoes, green onions, some stone ground mustard and some pepper. YUM!!   I had to prevent myself from eating plate full of it!  So, I started with my steamed kale, steamed asparagus and ended with potato salad. By that time I couldn’t eat anymore without becoming uncomfortable. I saw the chef cooking sweet potatoes this morning so I’m hoping we’re having those for dinner. Who would have thought you could get so excited by potato salad!  
I wanted to share some of my story for those of you who haven’t been around me for the past 20 or so years. After I had my beautiful daughters, 18 and almost 17, my weight ballooned up to 270+ pounds. I was in the verge of having to buy my clothes online because none of the stores carried any clothes that would fit me.  When we moved to Texas that was my weight. During the past 13 years I have managed to take off about 50 of those pounds through various forms of diet and exercise.  However, at no time, till we went plant based, was I able to maintain a steady weight. I would go up and down through those years and in the past almost 6 years I have maintained, within about 5 pounds, a fairly steady weight. Unfortunately, this weight is still not healthy although better for my body that being a yo-yo. Now is time for my fresh start and to regain my health. I will be eating a whole foods plant based diet with little to no salt, sugar or oil. I will also be incorporating movement (because I detest the word exercise!) that I enjoy: dancing, riding my bike, walking, hiking, yoga, etc..  This will insure that #1 – I’m around to enjoy and live my life for as long as I can. #2 – I will be able to watch my daughters grow into the amazing women I know they will be!  #3 – and almost the most important, I won’t be a burden to my friends and family when I’m older because I won’t be in a nursing home or hooked up to machines!

I encourage all of you to project out, 20, 30, 40 years. What kind of LIVING do you want to be doing?  Do you want to be able to remember your children’s names?  Do you want to see them get married or graduate from college?  How about your grandchildren? Do you want to be able to walk unassisted?  This question came across my Facebook feed today:  Are you ALIVE or are you just living?  I want to be ALIVE!!!  

2 thoughts on “Day 14 part 2

  1. Very good points! Being ALIVE is so much better than just living. And I’m with you on the whole idea of living with a healthy body for a long time. And I want to be able to do this without DRUGS. That was always my thing – at ease without popping pills. I don’t thing life is meant to be spent with a box full of medications that travel with you wherever you go.

    Like

Leave a Reply

