Day 17

Rest day. While I am proud of what I accomplished yesterday, I needed to relax today. That walk in almost 80 degree heat took a lot out of me. I have decided to stop posting my vitals as they really aren’t changing more than a point or two from day to day for the last two days. My blood pressure, blood sugar and weight seem to have all found a happy place. The weight will continue to come off as I fix my lifestyle at home. My body does not appear to be the kind that drops weight real fast. And that’s ok. Because, as I’ve experienced while I’ve been here, it also doesn’t add it back on fast either. Some people have gained 3 or more pounds when they started re-feeding. I barely gained a pound. 

I’m feeling kind of “lost” today as most of my fasting family has now departed. I am a firm believer that everyone comes into your life for a reason. They are there to teach you something. So, I am reflecting on what each of these people have taught me while I’ve been here. The number one take away is that I am extremely thankful to be going home to a supportive environment!  Jay has already started cooking recipes from the new cookbook I sent home. Some of these people are going home to spouses, family and friends that don’t support their lifestyle change. I can’t even imagine how hard that would be. I wonder if that’s why some of them end up coming back more than one time. 

The other take away is that some people can become almost fanatical and very black and white. Life isn’t black and white. I refuse to guilt or shame myself because I had a square of dark chocolate once a week or a glass of wine. Where you run into trouble is when it’s a “trigger” food, where you can’t stop eating it (mine is pizza) or when you’re eating it on a daily basis. I will do everything I can to stay on the “straight and narrow” as much as possible. And, yet, at the same time I won’t be one of those people that beat themselves up for allowing something in their diet, on a rare occasion, that shouldn’t be. I won’t eat meat of any kind, not because I’m being black and white about it but, because the thought of it makes me physically ill. I avoid the butcher area of the grocery store on purpose because the smell makes me gag. 

I would also like to encourage everyone reading this to try new fruits, vegetables and grains!  I had prickly pear, for the first time, here and love it!  Go into your grocery store once a week and pick out something you’ve never had before or that you thought you didn’t like. Give it a shot!  You’d be amazed at how many people here started out saying “I don’t like..” or”I would never eat…” and end up liking, and sometimes loving, the food!  I still don’t like Lima beans!  Beets are amazing!  Steamed greens are so yummy especially with some lemon squeezed over them or drizzled with some baslamic vinegar!  How about being really daring and trying rambuhtan (it’s a fruit). How about quinoa?  Quinoa is super easy to make and tastes great. The choices are almost endless. Also, if you have children, have them try it too!  My daughters LOVE mango!  (Who am I kidding, we all love mango!  They don’t last long in our house!). The other thing I would like to encourage you to do is try out meatless Monday’s. One day a week don’t eat meat (this includes chicken and fish). Discover the amazing recipes, that are all over the Internet, for meatless meals. If you need any suggestions please let me know.  Take a baby step in getting healthier!  

I wish for you a lifetime of health, joy and love!

4 thoughts on “Day 17

  1. It makes a whole lot of difference when the people around you are helping you succeed instead of helping you to fail. I saw that one of the American Idol winners was on the new season of Biggest Loser. He had gone on a vegan diet for 3 years after being diagnosed with heart disease (he’s a very big guy). Something happened in his life and he started hanging around his university buddies again and the vegan diet was replaced with a lot of grease, meat and very little vegetables. Needless to say, that’s how he ended up on the Biggest Loser. I’m not necessarily for the unsustainable, over exercising Biggest Loser has, nor am I for the product sponsors that they have that promote processed food. What is interesting to me is that he is changing his environment (the people he’s around) to manage how he eats and how he behaves (exercise). I thought it would have just been easier to go back to the vegan diet and dump the unsupportive friends. I guess for some people, that isn’t an option.

    Like

    1. Yes it makes a huge difference at least if your “inner circle” is supportive. I can handle outside influences fairly well and I think it would be extremely difficult to not have the support of my family. I agree with the unsustainability of the Biggest Loser process, that’s probably why so many of them put the weight back on. Oh, the processed food. I’m starting to think that we need to replace the number one killer of Americans with “Processed Food” instead of “Heart Disease” since its the processed food that’s causing the heart disease among a number of our other top killers!

      Like

  2. Shannon…you have been an encouragement to me. I’m doing a detox (no sugar, dairy, sugar, limited other foods). Day 2 was hard but then I though “heck, if Shannon can do what she’s doing I can do this”. I’ve come back to that same thought many times. Thank you for sharing your journey. Keep up the great work!!!

    Like

    1. OH Jill, that’s wonderful! I applaud you for taking on the challenge at home. It’s really tough! Keep up the great work!!! It’ll get easier, I promise! You’ll be amazed at how much your taste buds will change! Thank you so much for sharing and the encouragement!

      Like

Leave a Reply

