Challenges

As I had prepared to enter the “real” world, I figured that I had this.  I was in the “real” world before I entered True North and I would just be going back to that same world.  That is a correct statement.  What I hadn’t planned on was that the person who went into True North would not be the same person who came out.  I am now much more conscious of the “food” that surrounds us and bombards us.  I put “food” in quotation marks because I consider most of the the products we take as food aren’t food at all.  Yes, they may fill the emptiness in your stomach and yet at the same time they are depriving your body of nutrients and, in my opinion, soul.  On my first day back I had a lot of running around to do.  So, Jay and I stopped at a chain restaurant that has a soup and salad bar combination.  Organic vegetarian vegetable soup…what could be wrong with that?  Boy, was I in for a HUGE shock.  I took one spoon full and almost spit it back out.  It was SO salty!!!  We are presented with guidelines, at True North, for reading labels.  Sodium should be equal to or less than the calories per serving.  So, I decided, just now, to see how much sodium was in that cup of soup.  (Some restaurants actually do put their nutrition facts online)  Calories: 110 (not bad); Calories from fat: 45 (ouch…per our guidelines that shouldn’t have been more than 22); 5g fat (no saturated or trans fat); Sodium: 550mg!!!!!  5 times as much as my guidelines.  I could have had a bag of chips for less sodium!  This has lead me to the conclusion that I am going to have to be much more conscious of what I’m eating when I go out and that we will be doing a whole lot less eating out!  (which is a good thing given my current state of unemployment!)  My ask of you today is that you start making small changes, baby steps, to improving your health and wellbeing.  Take a walk, or an extra walk if you already are walking.  Make a meal at home using no added salt, sugar or oil.  (Yes, it can be done!  Recipe below)  Turn off your TV and have dinner at your dining/kitchen table.  Look at yourself in the mirror and tell yourself that you’re beautiful!

Another thing that is new to me is having the opportunity to reinvent myself.  I haven’t had to look for a job in over 20 years!  I am fairly confident that I don’t want to go back into corporate America.  It will have to take a really unique outstanding position for me to do that.  Either that or we’ll run out of money and I won’t have a choice!  I’m hoping it won’t come to that.  Frankly, I’d rather go down the road and work at the new grocery store, in the produce section of course!, than go back into corporate America.  The lack of integrity in most companies is disturbing to my soul.  I’m looking into becoming a master engraver!  My father is a licensed firearms dealer and occasionally sends guns out to be engraved.  The gentleman that he currently uses has a 12-18 month waiting list!!!!!  This man also wants to retire at some point and hand engravers are getting hard to come by.  I actually read an article the other day that said a lot of the “trade” jobs are seeing a decline in the number of people that are qualified to do those jobs: welders, electricians, plumbers, etc.  I thought about welding too.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still confident that my photography business is going to take off as well!  I am, I believe, days away from seeing my website ready for sales!  It would be nice if I could do a few things that would prevent me from getting bored with one thing and would also add to the income.

Here’s to new adventures on many levels!!!!

Basic Burger Recipe:

1 can kidney beans (drained)

1/2 cup rolled oats

1/2 cup cooked brown rice

2T chopped tomatoes

1T No salt seasoning of your choice

In a large mixing bowl, mash the beans by hand till there are some pieces but mostly mashed.  Add the rest of the ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Flatten the mixture into the bowl and divide into quarters.  Take each quarter out and make it into a patty (size and thickness of your desire).  Place the patties on a plate and put them, uncovered, into the refrigerator for 10 minutes.  Heat a non-stick skillet over 3/4 high heat for a few minutes (till water “dances” over the surface).  Cook each of the patties for 2-3 minutes on each side, placing a lid over the patties while they cook.

Voila!  That’s it.  Serve with lettuce, tomatoes, avocado, etc.  If you want a bun or bread, look for one with the lowest sodium and the highest fiber (whole grain).  You can try different beans and different spices to make different types of burgers.  I will add more of those types in the future.  Enjoy!!!! I would love to know what baby step you took today to improve your health and well-being.  Please post in the comments section on the blog or Facebook.

 

 

One thought on “Challenges

  1. Very interesting about the soup and even more interesting is that you knew before you looked at the stats. Your taste buds have reset themselves. And this is an interesting thing about fasting that I experienced as well. When you fast, your sense of taste returns to “normal” so that everything tastes like it normally would. I don’t know what it is in food (probably a lot of chemicals) that dull our taste buds and cause us to add more salt or more seasoning to our daily food. I find this fascinating. If other people could just taste stuff like they had just been on a fast, I think it would be much easier to make the right food choices. And maybe then, restaurants wouldn’t be the home of oil, salt & sugar.

    Like

Leave a Reply

