Lost in space

Mental health, in my opinion, is just as important and maybe more important, than physical health.  It’s been a little over a month since I was laid off from my job.  I have to admit…  I’m a little lost.  One of my friends, and ex co-workers, and I were talking one day about this being an opportunity to reinvent myself.  Yes, it is.  However, reinvent myself into what???  What do I want to be when I grow up???  I’m a year shy of being an empty nester.  Both of my daughters will be in college and starting on their own lives.  Both of them are also set to change the world although in very different ways.  My oldest is headed into the military with an astrophysics major.  She wants to discover and figure out what’s “out there” and I have absolutely no doubt in my mind that she will.  My youngest is going to double-major in American Sign Language and Special Education.  She is going to change the way we teach and interact with “disabled” students.  Both of my daughters, and my lack of employment, have had me re-evaluating my impact on the world.  What has also had an influence on that train of thought is the greed and corruption that I see in corporate America.  I am totally for people making as much money as they can as long as they do it honestly, with integrity and give back, in some way, to the people and communities that helped them get there.

This leaves me not wanting to re-enter the corporate world.  I also have a limiting belief, that I need to work through and get rid of, that I can’t make a “decent” living outside of the corporate world.  There’s a lot of people that do that, why can’t I?  The better question is, why don’t I think I can do that?  It’s all about beliefs.  So, that leaves me wondering, what’s next?  I am still working on the physical health aspect of myself which is getting easier as the days progress.  However, in my opinion, there is one piece that True North doesn’t do a very good job of addressing.  The mental/emotional aspect of why people are overweight in the first place.  In True North’s defense, they do clearly state that the program is NOT for weight loss.  It’s to rid your body of diseases that are caused by your lifestyle choices.  But, how do you change the lifestyle choices without dealing with the mental/emotional aspect?  I am finding myself unconsciously drifting back into old behaviors of eating when I don’t want to feel emotions that have surfaced.  We did have one class on that at True North and I think they should have daily classes!  Being someone that believes that you are responsible for your own choices, I need to make better/different choices when those emotions surface.  The first thing I need to is to be mindful of the behavior.  Second, I need to leave the environment which has caused this emotion and allow myself to fully feel whatever it is that has surfaced.  No emotion will physically kill you, if you don’t bury it!  There is also evidence suggesting that an emotion will only last for 90 seconds if you don’t “loop” it.  (Loop = replay the scenario over and over again in your mind).  Third, I need to have a list of alternate behaviors that make me feel joy, happiness, passion, rapture!

Not sure how I got from not knowing what I wanted to be when I grew up to emotional eating behaviors…  🙂

Some ideas that I have on possible income generators:  get my photography website up and running (soon, very soon!); purchase an exhibit tent so that I can start going to fine art fairs and selling my photography and other things I have in mind; crossing guard; master engraver; motivational speaker; whole foods plant based nutritionist; professional house sitter…  the options are limitless!  Do you have any ideas/suggestions?  I would love to hear them!!!  Also, if you have any contract/project work that I could help you with please let me know!  I have experience with MySQL, javascript, Salesforce, JIRA, wiki page documentation, Sabre and Apollo Global Distribution Systems, as well as a lot of other things!

Have an OUTSTANDING day!

One thought on “Lost in space

  1. I felt good about today. I made a phone call about getting into the Art in the Garden show at the Fort Worth Botanical Garden (they aren’t quite sure what to do about photography printed on glass!). I also bookmarked 6 Fine Art Fairs, that are in Texas, in the next 6 months. Now to purchase an exhibit tent so that we can create a booth picture.

    Like

Leave a Reply

