For all the ladies…

I don’t think I have a lot of men reading this blog except for maybe my husband.  Some updates before I dive in:  I still am off my diabetes medication!!!  I have dropped 1-2 clothes sizes (depending on the manufacturer) and I have lost a band size and a cup size in my bra!

Which leads into my thought for the day…  when was the last time you had a bra fitting???  Your wedding day?  Never?  I would highly suggest going into a store, lots of them offer them now, and have someone correctly measure you for a bra.  Try on one that actually FITS you and see what a remarkable difference is made.  I wasn’t going to buy any new bra’s, after I got back from True North, because I figured that I would just have to buy another size in another few months anyway.  Boy, am I glad I didn’t wait!!!  A well fitting bra makes you feel and look better!  I swear I looked about 10 pounds lighter.  When I got home from purchasing my new bras, I had one of my daughters look at me with my old one on.  Then I went into the bedroom and put the new one on and came back out.  She almost fell off her chair!!!  She couldn’t believe the difference in how I looked just by changing a single undergarment!  As I was purchasing my bra’s, I was reminded of a scene in “Eat, Pray, Love” (I have had to buy extra copies of this movie because I’ve worn them out!).  Liz is looking at a piece of beautiful lingerie and her friend says to her “That’s beautiful, you should get it” and Liz says, in Italian “per chi?” (for who?) and her friend says “For you Liz, just for you”.  Sometimes we need to buy something beautiful and luxurious just for ourselves.  No one else needs to know about it, or see it, sometimes it’s enough to wear it just for you!

What one thing can you do, or buy, for yourself today, or this week, that’s just for you?

Update on the overnight oats recipe I posted a while back:  We found organic quick-cooking steel cut oats at Costco!!!  My husband and I are seriously loving our overnight oats in the morning on our non-“fasting” days.  The steel cut oats definitely give it more of a chewy texture.  I think tomorrow night when I make them I’ll do a 1/2 cup regular rolled oats and 1/2 of the steel cut just to give it a little more balance.  These overnight oats are great for summer when you don’t want to cook oatmeal, or anything else for that matter, and still want a substantial breakfast.  They are a refreshing way to start out your morning!  This morning I mixed in hemp hearts, frozen wild blueberries, frozen cranberries and a tablespoon of vegan chocolate chips!  I had to let it sit for a while to let the berries thaw.

Update on our modified intermittent fasting:  for those of you who don’t know or didn’t remember, my husband and I are doing what’s called a modified intermittent fasting program.  We eat our normal whole-foods plant based diet (good grief I dislike that word because of the negative connotation it has with me) on one day, like today, and the next day we eat 500 calories or less (mostly vegetables).  No, we’re not counting calories.  Most vegetables, on average, have 100 calories per pound.  We would have to eat 5 pounds of vegetables to reach 500 calories!  I don’t think I could physically eat 5 pounds of vegetables!  Fruit it just a little more at 200 calories per pound, on average (granted some are higher and we stay away from those on our “fasting” days).  My husband’s blood pressure has significantly reduced and he is almost at his goal weight!!!  He has also gone down a size in his pants.  Once I get to a weight/size/whatever, I feel comfortable with I will probably stop doing the intermittent fasting and go to a once a month 2-3 water fast as a maintenance measure.  I will, as I have been for the past 2 months, be listening to my body on what’s best and adjust as necessary.

Have an OUTSTANDING day!!!

One thought on “For all the ladies…

Leave a Reply

