Ideal life

I have had two pretty interesting revelations in the past 48 hours that I thought I would share.  The reason I’m sharing is that I watched this video this morning about “Owning your journey” and how if you share your journey you never know who might want/need that piece of your journey that you shared.  I thought that made sense because how would we learn anything if people didn’t share their journeys.

A while back, I don’t remember why I did this or when, I wrote about what my “ideal” life would look like.  I would be waking up when my body was done resting, I would be working for myself and my “work” wouldn’t be work but a career in which I was doing what I loved.  I would be able to set my own schedule and not be tied to someone else’s time clock.  There were other things and I remember this list of things being at the top.  It just dawned on me this morning…  I’m living this part of my ideal life!  WHAT???  WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN???   I have been seriously, at sometimes scarily, depressed recently.  This revelation has caused me to re-evaluate where my thought patterns lie.  Granted, I’m still waking up to an alarm but because I want to spend time with my daughter in the morning and help get her ready for her day not because I have to get to a job by 9am.  Between 8:30am and 3:30pm, on most days, I’m free to do what I want and when I want to do it.  I should be swinging from the chandeliers!!!  The one thing that hasn’t manifested itself, YET, is the income to sustain myself and my family.  And I have to be honest with myself – why should it have?  I haven’t, until recently, been putting any work into my business to generate any income.  DUH!!!!  The magic money bus isn’t going to pull up in front of my house and drop my billions of dollars off no matter how much I wish and pray that it would!  So, starting RIGHT NOW I am going to be abundantly grateful for the opportunity to pursue my dream.  I am going to be grateful that I get this time for myself to work on my career.  The income will come.

The other thing that I was contemplating was why I was having such a hard time sticking to any sort of spiritual practice routine.  I used to love routines.  I was a planner and a list person.  I had schedules.  Why is it so hard to stick to this practice that I know deep down will only benefit me both mentally, physically and emotionally?  Then I got my answer.  I’m afraid.  We’ve become a society of immediacy.  I can text or call my sister, who lives on the other side of the planet, and she will answer me, almost, immediately.  I can get money from a machine immediately.  I think I was expecting the Universe/God/my higher self (insert whatever word works for you) to work immediately and because it wasn’t I got scared.  I was/am afraid that everything that I had been taught in the past 3 years, or so,  was bullsh*t.  I was/am afraid that no one is really listening and the reason I was afraid was/am because I wasn’t receiving answers immediately.  It doesn’t work that way.  At least I don’t think it works that way (I’m actually really hoping it doesn’t work that way because if it does that means I’ve been being ignored!).   Now that I have come to this revelation I can move past the fear and know that sometimes you don’t get an immediate result/answer.  Sometimes you have to have faith and be patient.

If anyone is having any of the same issues that I’ve mentioned above, or just want to get your mind to do what you want it to do, and want to do something about it  – FOR FREE – I would highly recommend signing up for the NLP Mindfest put on by Learning Strategies.  My sister is one of the presenters!   You can sign up here (it’s my sisters link):  http://www.allinthemind.asia/nlp-mindfest-is-coming

I’ll end with another recipe.  Seriously so simple but yummy!

Roasted Chickpeas from PlantPure Nation Cookbook page 83

Two 15 oz cans chickpeas (also known as garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained

1t garlic powder

2t chili powder

1/2t sea salt

2T lime juice

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.  Place the chickpeas in a gallon-size resealable plastic bag and add the seasonings.  Shake well until completely coated (those of you who are around my age or older “It’s Shake and Bake and I helped (has to be said with a southern accent!)).  Spread the seasoned chickpeas evenly on the prepared baking sheet and bake for 45-55 minutes stirring every 15-20 minutes so they cook evenly.  Cook until golden brown.  Serve warm or cold for an anytime snack.

Much healthier than chips!  You can use different seasonings too to mix things up a bit.  We’ve done a salt and vinegar one that was really good!

I leave you with the quote that is hanging right inside one of my daughters bedroom doors:

DON’T FORGET TO BE AWESOME!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

